You are here
Home > lifestyle

7 Energy Chakras

t is natural to feel emotionally disturbed when our physical body ails due to some sickness, but have you ever wondered why? You must have heard someone tell you at some point in your life, that if you believe you are unwell, you will be, or that the ailment is all in your mind. This is because your body and mind balance is a two way street, based on your chakras.

Chakras are the energy centers of our body that house physical bodily functions, as well as our mental and emotional strengths. Thus, each body function is also related to a mental state of mind. When we are not feeling well physically, by removing that stale and negative energy from our minds, we can help our bodies heal faster. Working on your chakras takes time, and you must start by balancing the root chakra. The first step is to understand what the chakras mean. There are 7 main Chakras in the body.

  1. Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is at the base of your spine, at your tailbone. This chakra dictates the innate survival instincts in a person, money, shelter, food and ability to provide for basic necessities. Physically it dominates legs, feet, rectum, tailbone, immune system and reproductive system. An imbalance in the root chakra could lead to issues in the aforementioned physical aspects. If your root chakra is well balanced, it gives you the feeling of being grounded, supported and safe.

  1. Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located below the navel. It fuels our creativity and commitment to relationships when it is in balance. Our ability to enjoy life and life’s pleasures including sexuality are based on the energies of the Sacral Chakra. Physically it dominates the sexual and reproductive organs, urinary tracts, kidneys, hip, pelvic and the lower back region.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located a few inches above the navel and is the most common form of imbalance experienced among individuals. An imbalance in this chakra leads to problems in digestion, liver, chronic fatigue, blood pressure, diabetes and issues with the colon. Emotionally, it raises issues of self-esteem and fear of rejection, criticism and insecurities when it is out of balance. This chakra helps maintain an individual’s self-respect, self-esteem and self-acceptance.

  1. Heart Chakra

Located at the heart this is most important chakra as it is right in the middle of the others. This chakra dictates our innermost feelings of love, joy, gratitude, forgiveness and compassion. An imbalance in this chakra can lead to loneliness, trust issues, jealousy, the feeling of abandonment and anger. Physically it is related to issues of the heart, breathing, lungs, breasts, upper back, chest and shoulders.

  1. Throat Chakra

The throat chakra links all of the physical properties above the neck, including the ears, eyes, throat, face and thyroid. Emotionally it is linked to self-expression through communication, both orally and written and self-control. When this chakra is balanced words and expressions flow freely and unhindered. It also makes the person more honest and a better listener to others.

  1. Third Eye Chakra

Located on the forehead, between the eyebrows, the third eye is related to the wisdom and insight of a person. When it is in balance, the mind is clear, focused, and able to see the bigger picture with the ability to differentiate between truth and illusion. An imbalance in this chakra leads to moodiness, and an inability to self introspect. Such persons are often day dreaming and live in their own exaggerated imagination. Physically it relates to issues of the head; pertaining to headaches, vision, sinus, hearing, and hormonal functions.

  1. Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra located at the top of the head is the definition of living mindfully. If your crown chakra is opened we begin to live in the present moment and are fully aware of our inner selves. Physically it is related to issues of the mind, such as depression, inability to learn, and sensitivity to surroundings such as light or sound.

When one or more chakras are blocked, they tend to throw the other chakras off balance as well. There are many ways in which you can balance your chakras, and the best way to begin is from the root chakra and work your way upwards. There are several ways of balancing your root chakra, including meditation, yoga, going for a walk and really feeling the ground below your feet, or even as simple as getting a pedicure. Keep an eye out for the next article to learn how to start balancing your chakras.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.
Seo wordpress plugin by